About NOS

The Neotropical Ornithological Society (NOS) is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the scientific study of birds and their habitats in the Neotropical Region. NOS was founded in 1987 by Dr. Mario A. Ramos Olmos. NOS disseminates scientific research though our website, our journal Ornitología Neotropical, and through the Neotropical Ornithological Congress which is a scientific conference held every four years. NOS members include researchers, research institutions, and libraries from all over the world. Please join us!

NOS also offers grants through our François Vuilleumier Fund for Research on Neotropical Birds. NOS is a member of the Ornithological Council.

NOS is led and managed by an elected executive committee and board who include the following people:

President: Paulo C. Pulgarín-R (pulgarinp@gmail.com)
Vice President: María Andreína Pacheco (tug00270@temple.edu)
Past President: Juan Ignacio (Nacho) Areta (esporofila@yahoo.com.ar)
Treasurer: Ian J. Ausprey (iausprey@ufl.edu)
Editor: Carlos Bosque (ornitologia.neotropical@gmail.com)
Copy Editor: Natalia Gutierrez, Nelsy Niño & Camila Pardo
Secretary: Jorge E. Avendaño (jorgeavec@gmail.com)

Board Members-at-Large include: Kini Roesler, Paula Caycedo & David Ocampo Rincón

Past NOS presidents include: Mario A. Ramos, François Vuilleumier, Patricia Escalante, and Joseph M. Wunderle, Jorge Pérez-Emán.

Past journal editors include: Karl-L. Schuchmann (1987-1997), Raymond McNeil (1997-2008), and André Weller (2008-2014) & Kaspar Delhey.

Past NOS treasurers include: Bette Loiselle, Catherine Lindell, Daniel J. Lebbin, Molly McDermott.